Zackery Bickford

Zachery BickfordName: Zackery Bickford

Division you will compete in: 20 to 23 year old and 181.5lbs

Age: 20

Height: 5’8.5”

Weight/Competition Weight: 173lbs (current) 180lbs (max)

Current max lifts Bench/Squat/Deadlift: Current 260/325/450

Training for (300+/400+/500+)

City: Tacoma

Years as a vegan: 4.5 years

Why you became a Vegan: I first became vegan because of health reasons and I wanted to try it for 2 weeks to see what would happen. Then I slowly started to learn and still learning about animal rights.

History Competing: none as a power lifter right now

What drives you to compete: I love to prove how strong a vegan really is in all the sports I compete in. Plus it’s fun showing people you do not need animal products to be a great athlete.

What do you see as the biggest advantages of being a vegan athlete: I see that it gives us more energy to strive on with our goals as an athlete. As a vegan athlete we stay healthier throughout the year.

What types of supplements if any do you use?: healthforce’s elite green protein and vitamineral greens, rawfusion, vega protein smoothie, L-Glutamine.

How would you describe your diet while preparing for a competition: I eat clean all year round. I eat to keep my energy high and to recover after hard days at the gym. I eat a lot of green veggies, fruits, nuts like almonds and cashews, rice cakes with almond butter, rice, potatoes, and a little tofu every now and then.

Favorite food in your prep diet: I love my broccoli and potatoes when I am getting stronger.

How would you describe your training for a competition: I am use to very intense training about 2 months out and about 2 weeks away I will start to decrease the intensity to be fresh for the competition.

Favorite exercises: Tire flips, tire farmer’s walk, cleans, dead lifts, muscle ups, and throwing big rocks around.

How many hours a week do you spend training?: anywhere from 10-15 hours

Today I am most proud of: I am most proud of the impact I have done by myself as a vegan wrestler in my community.

Personal website or blog: