Kelly Colobella

Kelly Colobella - PLANTBUILT.COM

Kelly Colobella – PLANTBUILT.COM

Name: Kelly Colobella

Division you will compete in: Powerlifting

Age: 37

Height: 5’5″

Weight/Competition Weight: 179/ 170

City: Salt Lake City

Years as a vegan: 21

Why you became a Vegan: I had been vegetarian since I was 12 years old for ethical reasons, when I learned about the veal industry and their connection to dairy it seemed like the logical step to take. I am vegan for my ethics but I belive the effects on my health and the planet are an incredible side effect!

History Competing: I’ve never competed in Powerlifting, this will be new for me. I took 2nd place in the Pound for Pound Strongman challenge, that’s the extent of my strength competing. I was formerly an endurance athlete and have taken 1st and 2nd place in races with triathlon.

What drives you to compete: I like proving to myself that I am the best. Watching my hard work pay off, knowing that I have the discipline to get the job done, being able to break stereotypes as a woman (and vegan). I got interested in fitness not long after my son was born because I wanted to set a good example to him of a healthy lifestyle, and as a strong, independent woman.

What do you see as the biggest advantages of being a vegan athlete: I feel like I recover much more quickly than the non-vegans that I have worked out with. My muscles are rarely sore, and I have a lot of energy even on heavy workout days. My body uses the food that I eat much more efficiently, breaks it down easier, and keeps me fueld without taking energy away from my body by overworking my organs with toxic foods, and harsh meats and dairy.

What types of supplements if any do you use?: I use Vega and Plant Fusion protein powders, and occasionally Vega recovery accelerator.

How would you describe your diet while preparing for a competition: I don’t have any specific pre-competition nutrition regiment, just eating clean, eating often, and eating enough.

Favorite food in your prep diet: Tofu! It gets a bad rap but I love it! It’s very versatile, you can turn it into almost anything. I also always make sure to get lots of green veggies, and all kinds of apples!

How would you describe your training for a competition: Lifting heavy, I like to add sprints, and a lot of core work.

Favorite exercises: I tend to favor strongman workouts. I like how diverse the exercises are, there’s less restrictions, never gets any easier, and tends to work a lot of muscle groups at once. My favorite in the gym is bench pressing.

How many hours a week do you spend training?: In the past I have spent between 9-15 hours training. I’m trying to tone that down a bit for powerlifting so I can have a focus on where I’m making gains. I’ll probably be working out around 10 hours a week (including football practice) from this point forward.

Today I am most proud of: I am a Mom, a small business owner, semi-pro tackle football player, and now part of the Plantbuilt team. I am proud of everything I have going on in my life! I am very proud that I have successful projects, and family life that I put my whole heart into.

Personal website or blog: