Jamie Schmill

15637167329_3b21a4d011_kDivision you will compete in: Kettlebell Sport

Age: 36

Height: 5’6”

Weight/Competition Weight: 137

City: New Orleans

Years as a vegan: I’ve been vegan since 15 and vegetarian since I was 12. 20+ years vegan strong!

Why you became a Vegan: I grew up in a very rural, agrarian part of the United States where cattle ranching was a major industry and hunting a predominant part of the culture. I was exposed to food production from a young age and started to wonder about the moral permissibility of eating animals around age 10 I had a wonderful grade school counselor who explained the concept of vegetarianism to me and by 6th grade I decided to eliminate meat and later dairy and all animal products from my diet. I also grew up as a dancer and a five sport athlete and was always interested in health. I simply noticed from a young age that I felt stronger, lighter, and in all ways more dynamic eating plants!

History Competing: 2016 is my first season competing in Kettlebell Sport although I’m certified as an IKFF kettle bell coach and have been training clients on kettle bells for several years. I spent the last decade dedicated to growing and completing in the sport of women’s flat track roller derby. Now that I’ve hung up my skates, I’m excited to branch out and explore new avenues for my competitive spirit.

What drives you to compete: I believe movement is a fundamental human expressive capacity and consider fitness a practice of active gratitude. For me, competing celebrates a healthy body and the glory of human motion. What our bodies can do is incredible! I also love that competing is internal and external. I love pursuing my personal best but also love the idea of meeting other competitors toe-to-toe on an even playing field and seeing who comes out on top!

What do you see as the biggest advantages of being a vegan athlete: Feeling light, powerful, adaptive, and full of energy; recovering more efficiently.

What types of supplements if any do you use: I rotate a variety of protein powders in my diet but otherwise none.

How would you describe your diet while preparing for a competition: My diet is consistent year round – very high protein, moderate fat, lower carb (often carb cycling on a 5/2). I probably eat close to 70% raw and mostly local.

Favorite food in your prep diet: Since my diet is consistent year round, I really look forward to what is in season and coming in my weekly CSA box. We are lucky to have a year-round growing cycle in South Louisiana and I love our bounty of fresh, beautiful produce. I especially love all of the dark, leafy greens that come in the winter months.

How would you describe your training for a competition: Consistent and focused.

Favorite exercises: Just one?!? Probably the Turkish Get Up.

How many hours a week do you spend training: I do a lot of different things, so it is hard to say, but I would guess it averages out to about 10 – 12 hours, not including programming, ect.

Today I am most proud of: Being fully present in all of the things I chose to prioritize in my life, especially for all the other people who share those things with me.